Skip to main content

Governors, Patrons and Members

Our Patrons

Her Majesty The Queen

Her Majesty The Queen has been an active Chief Patron of Motability since the charity’s inception in 1977.

  • The Rt Hon Boris Johnson MP
  • The Rt Hon Theresa May MP
  • The Rt Hon David Cameron
  • The Rt Hon Ed Miliband MP
  • The Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP
  • The Rt Hon Sir Tony Blair KG

Life President

The Rt Hon the Lord Sterling of Plaistow GCVO CBE

Lord Sterling GCVO CBE was co-founder (with the late Lord Goodman) of Motability and Chairman from 1994 to 2020.

Life Vice President

Brian Carte TD

Joined as a Governor on 7 December 1993 and retired as a Governor on 1 March 2014. He later became our Life Vice President on 26 September 2019.

Charles Manby MBE


Charles joined Motability's Board of Governors on 26 September 2019. He became Chairman of Motability on 1 June 2020.

Charles Manby MBE Biography

Ed Humpherson CB FCA

Vice Chairman

Ed works at the UK Statistics Authority, a role he has held since January 2014. Prior to this Ed was a Board Member and Executive Leader for Economic Affairs, National Audit Office.

Ed Humpherson FCA Biography

David Hunter FCA

Hon Treasurer

David qualified as a Chartered Accountant with PWC before joining 3i, where he became Managing Director of Investment Management responsible for the entire UK portfolio of assets.

David Hunter FCA Biography

Dr Juliana Onwumere


Juliana is an academic researcher and also a Consultant Clinical Psychologist in the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust.

Dr Juliana Onwumere Biography

Professor Mala Rao OBE


Mala is a Senior Clinical Fellow at Imperial College London, Medical Adviser to NHS England’s Workforce Race Equality Strategy.

Professor Mala Rao OBE Biography

Cheryl Ward


Cheryl is Group Chief Executive of Family Fund, the UK’s largest grant-making charity which is based in York and offers support to families living on lower incomes raising a child.

Cheryl Ward Biography
Dr Hannah Barham Brown photo

Dr Hannah Barham-Brown FRSA


Hannah is a GP registrar in Yorkshire, Council Member of the British Medical Association, and Deputy Leader of the Women’s Equality Party.

Dr Hannah Barham-Brown FRSA Biography

Professor William Webb


William is an independent consultant at Webb Search and CEO of the Weightless SIG, a body standardizing a new Machine-to-Machine technology (M2M).

Professor William Webb Biography

Richard Cartwright ACA


Richard is a Member of Council at the University of Southampton, providing strategic leadership and challenge to the Executive of one of the world’s top 100 ranked universities.

Richard Cartwright ACA Biography

Robin Hindle Fisher OBE


Robin is a Business Coach and Executive Mentor. As a partner of Hay Hill Partners, he provides companies with one to one coaching for their Board and Executives.

Robin Hindle Fisher OBE Biography
  • Sir Gerald Acher CBE LVO FCA
  • Richard Bennison FCA
  • Don Brereton CB
  • Morigue Cornwell MBE
  • Alan Dickinson
  • Dr Stephen Duckworth OBE
  • Christopher E Fay CBE
  • The Rt Hon the Lord Hague of Richmond
  • Raymond King
  • Joanna Lewis
  • Edward Lester
  • The Baroness Masham of Ilton DL
  • The Hon Sara Morrison
  • Noel Muddiman CBE
  • Lord Kevin Shinkwin
  • Paul Spencer CBE
  • Peter Oppenheimer
  • David Pritchard